2 years of Kids Bee Happy with Lyn

I am married to Tim for almost 24 years and have my two girls Nicola and Rachael and my two rescue doggie Milo and Ozzie. I joined Sand Art back in June 2015. I’ve always worked part time since my girls were born they are now 19 and 17. They both have lots of health issues and I found Sand Art as it was when Rachael was having a bad time and had creative therapy it was something she chose to do to help.

I looked into it further and came across Kids Bee Happy Sand Art. I’ve kept a steady business all of the time since starting out. I would look on Facebook groups, stall finder events etc. I have my regular slots I do but I have as my confidence has grown stepped outside the box.

Repeat customers and recommendations from previous customers is now absolutely the biggest reason for my current success. I still work for a big bank 27hrs a week but work evenings. This means my weekends and school holidays are free to do Sand Art.

I approached other local businesses and work closely with them. I’ve approached breakfast clubs, after school clubs, local cafes, local children’s groups and I’m currently starting work with many. I still do some fairs but now do many more workshop type events.

Next month I am returning to a lady who runs a rainbow, brownie and guide unit. I shouldn’t take all the credit Nicola and Rachael spoke to her initially at a very busy craft fair we did last June at Sunderland football club the Stadium of Light. Rachael and I then went to her Brownie pack in July 2016 and had 50 children complete pictures. She has asked us to return on the 6th April and do 90 pictures and also this time I am taking take home packs and donating 10% back to the unit. The Brownie leader works in a hospice as an events coordinator so she has asked me if I can go into there soon. I have also been asked to support a local children’s craft group for children on the Autistic spectrum.

I’m returning to an independent local caravan park to leave Packs tomorrow as they have just messaged today to say the season starts on Saturday. It worked very well last year. A cafe has asked me to take some in for her on a rent a shelf basis and I also do this in a shop.

I’ve never wanted to recruit as I was a manager for years in my job and wanted this more as a hobby with an income, but I am currently getting daily messages inviting me to different places so I may have to rethink this part of the business.

Almost 2 years in I love it now more than ever and hope if the income becomes sustainable to drop a day at work and go down to 22 hours.

Having team groups to share ideas is vital as is having good leaders which I have had with both Christine and Gem.

Biggest help to success for me have been giving business cards, having a separate email address for queries and orders but now more than anything returning customers, word of mouth and recommendations from previous happy customers and of course the continued support from Tim, Nicola and Rachael

 

Lyn party 2

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

