Little Gifts of Time

Do you feel that some days you just don’t get anywhere fast, every traffic light is red, there are queues of traffic, the car doesn’t start, your child is ill, clients cancel or just don’t turn up, you make calls to people who aren’t there, emails aren’t answered. It is as if today you aren’t just meant to go in the direction you want to go in! These kinds of days can be so very frustrating, especially if they are things you ‘ought’ to be doing, things that you had organised to happen today – and you just aren’t getting them done!

Well you have a choice, you can continue to battle, be stressed about the traffic queue, upset that you are housebound with a sick child, continue to make those calls that repeatedly aren’t answered or you can chose to turn this situation on it’s head and view it as a gift of time. If you think about it, if you can’t do what you want to do, you will have an amount of time available to you to do something else!

I like gifts of time, because they are pockets of time that you didn’t think you were going to get, so you may as well make the most of it! But now because you have no choice, it has been presented to you, there’s nothing you can do – especially if you are stuck in traffic or on a late train – it makes us frustrated and angry like we have no control. Which is on one hand right, we can’t change the situation, but we can change our reaction to it! We can change this situation so that it works in our favour!

If you are in your car, sit back and relax – turn your radio on, enjoy! If you are on the train, read the paper, listen to a podcast you’ve been wanted to hear. If a client doesn’t turn up ~ do something positive with the time, read a journal you’ve wanted to for a while, update your website, it doesn’t really matter as long as you use the time – it’s been given to you so you mayaswell make the most of it! Even if your car won’t start in the morning – such a good opportunity to enjoy a coffee in the morning sun whilst you are waiting for the recovery team!

If you find yourself saying, I wish I just had some time to…..when I have time I will….Well when you are given these pockets of time now is the time to get those things done! Those that know me, know that I always have a notebook on the go and one of the things I jot down is those little things I never have a chance to get done – then when a client rearranges an appointment or something happens and I find myself with a little pocket of time, I know exactly what to do with it, I deliberately look at my list and choose one of those things that I’ve been meaning to do for a while and not something I have down for that day, because I didn’t think I would have that time, so I’m going to use it for something different!

So the next time things don’t go as planned don’t waste time getting stressed, you won’t get this opportunity again!

 

Andrea Morrison is a Transformational Life Coach, Clinical Hypnotherapist & Speaker (andreamorrison.co.uk) and is author of The Feel Good Factor in 30 days, her facebook page is www.facebook.com/andreamorrisoncoaching  Discover the Real You, together, today

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

